Contact the Kansas Conference See who is the Executive Committee Find out about meetings Home page
AAUP in Kansas AAUP in Kansas AAUP in Kansas
  AAUP Kansas Conference
Navigation Committee A
Membership Info
Membership Form
Kansas Chapters
Chapter Service
KBOR Social Media
KUAAUP Petitions
Reports Given
Sound Governance Survey
National AAUP

Printer Version
Kansas Conference
American Association of University Professors

Minutes of the spring meeting, April 29, 2000

The spring meeting was convened at Washburn University at the 'International House' at 10 AM. The guest speaker was Jack Nightingale, Associate Secretary of Department of Organization and Services of the National AAUP. His topic was "Developing Effective Strategies for Asserting Academic Rights." He reminded us that although we may feel that our struggles and problems of our various campuses may seem unique, actually every campus has similar problems with the attempt to preserve academic freedom and academic due process. One of the most serious threats to academic freedom is the slow, and sometimes not so slow, replacement of tenure track positions with renewable annual contracts. Tenure is not just a guarantee of a job, sometimes it is no guarantee at all, but instead it is the best protection we have for academic freedom. Mr. Nightingale used several specific examples at Universities to illustrate his thesis. He also reminded us about the various National AAUP offices that are there to help us if we need advice or assistance.

Next on the agenda was a brief report from the ad hoc Committee A. The report was given by Rich Hughen - chair of the committee. In March of 2000 Professor Elmer Hoyer, President of the Kansas Conference, directed the formation of an ad hoc Committee A to interview faculty members with complaints related to possible violations of academic freedom and due process at Kansas University (KU), Lawrence, and at the KU Medical Center, Kansas City. The members of the committee were Dr. Joe Yanik - ESU, Dr. Talat Rahman - KSU, and Dr. Dolores Furtado, - KUMC.

Business Meeting

After lunch and some pleasant conversation the afternoon business meeting began. President Elmer Hoyer, presided.

1) The minutes of the fall meeting (October 16, 1999) were distributed to all attendees. Professor Bill Wagnon, Washburn, moved that the minutes be approved. The motion was seconded and it passed.

2) The treasurer's report was distributed to the members present. After a brief explanation by the treasurer, Professor Bill Scott, KU, moved that the report be approved. The motion was seconded and it passed.

3) President Elmer Hoyer suggested that it would be a good idea to establish a standing Committee A for the Kansas Conference. He suggested Professor Dolores Furtado as the chair. He said he would entertain a motion to that effect. A motion was offered by Joe Yanik, Emporia, it was seconded and it passed. President Hoyer asked for names of persons, at least one from each local chapter to serve on this committee.

4) At the fall meeting of the conference, Professor Hoyer said he would build a Kansas Conference on the web if we were interested. To domonstrate our interest and support, Professor Rich Hughen offered a motion that the Kansas Conference take over the cost of maintaining our web-site that President Hoyer initiated last year. The motion also included that the Conference reimburse President Hoyer for his initial costs of establishing the web site. The motion was seconded and it passed.

5) Professor Hughen suggested that the Kansas Conference Executive Committee needs to be more inclusive. Our speaker at the Fall 1999, Conference meeting, Professor Tom Guild (University of Central Oklahoma) suggested that inclusion was the key to a successful and effective AAUP organization. Based on that note, Professor Hughen said that he would introduce a motion to change the Kansas Conference Constitution at the Fall meeting 2000. An advance notice is required before such a motion may be considered at a Conference meeting. Here is the proposed change.

The present article pertaining to the executive committee is:

"Article V, Executive Committee, Paragraph 1. There shall be an executive committee consisting of the president, the vice-president/president-elect, the immediate past president, the executive director, the secretary-treasurer, and the editor of the Conference newsletter. The editor shall be named by the president."

Here is the proposed change to Article V, paragraph 1:

There shall be an executive committee consisting of the officers, the immediate past president, and the editor of the Conference newsletter. The editor shall be named by the president. The president of each local chapter in the Kansas Conference (or another officer designated by the chapter president) shall be members of the Executive Committee. A faculty member holding elected office in the National AAUP, or membership on the National Council of the AAUP, shall serve as an ex-officio, voting member of the Kansas Conference so long as he/she holds such office or membership.

6) The next item of business was campus reports. Several chapters reported on their activities.

7) The date of the fall meeting was tentatively set for Saturday, October 21 at ESU. Details will be arranged. The meeting was adjourned at 3PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Rich Hughen (Phil-FHSU)


 © Copyright 2002-2005 AAUP Kansas Conference, all rights reserved. Contact | National AAUP | Executive Committee | Meetings | Home